Low Minimum Deposit Brokers for EA Trading (2026)
Every Expert Advisor starts on a demo account, and that is the right place to start. Demo results prove logic, though — not execution. The moment an EA meets a live server, three things change: fills get slipped, spreads widen at inconvenient moments, and the strategy must survive on real broker conditions rather than idealized tester data. The cheapest honest way to discover all of this is a small live account, and the floor of that account is the broker's minimum deposit.
For algorithmic traders, that number is more than an entry fee. It interacts with how a robot operates: which lot size it can use, how much drawdown it can survive, whether a VPS fits the monthly budget, and how much spread and commission drag a high trade frequency creates on a tiny balance. This article walks through that interaction step by step and then lays out the published numbers for 24 brokers in one table. You can cross-check every broker mentioned here in our forex brokers hub.
Why a Small Live Account Matters for EA Traders
A demo account answers one question: does the logic work? A small live account answers several more that no backtest can fully resolve. How wide does the spread actually get around rollover or news? How much slippage does the EA absorb on market orders during fast moves? Does execution behave the same at 3 a.m. on Friday as it does in the London session? These are precisely the conditions that decide whether a scalping, grid, or news robot's real-world expectancy still matches the backtest.
The standard progression among careful algo traders runs demo, then a small live account at minimum lot sizes, then scale-up once live behavior matches expectations. The small-live phase is where you learn whether the EA's real cost structure — slippage, spread, commission, swap — still leaves an edge after costs. If it does not, you have lost a modest verification budget instead of a full-size account. That is what makes the minimum deposit one of the most practical numbers in automated trading: it sets the entry price for this verification stage.
What “Minimum Deposit” Really Means for a Robot
The minimum deposit is the smallest amount a broker accepts to open a live account. It is not the amount your strategy needs. An EA that trades 0.01 lots — the smallest size on most MT4 and MT5 accounts — still needs margin for every open position, a buffer for floating drawdown, and room for any additional positions the robot might stack before closing the first.
Generic arithmetic makes the point. One pip on a 0.01-lot EUR/USD position is worth roughly $0.10, so a 150-pip floating drawdown on a single minimum-size trade is about $15. If the same robot can hold three such positions at once — a common design in grid and recovery systems — one adverse sequence can produce roughly $45 of floating loss. On a $50 account that approaches the entire balance before slippage is even counted. The deposit requirement was met; the strategy's capital requirement was not.
So translate every minimum deposit figure into strategy terms: margin for all simultaneous positions, plus the EA's expected maximum drawdown in dollars, plus a safety margin on top. For many robots the practical figure is several multiples of the stated minimum. One more nuance: brokers often tie the requirement to an account type. In our dataset, Alpari publishes $100 for Standard accounts, while CFI Financial and FP Markets publish $100 in the context of their ECN accounts — the same broker can carry different entry amounts per account type.
Budgeting the Full Stack: Deposit, VPS, and Cost Drag
An algo trader's monthly budget has lines a manual trader can ignore. The first is the VPS. A robot that must stay connected around the clock needs hosting, and typical market pricing for a basic forex VPS runs roughly $10–$30 per month. Against a $50 deposit, that is 20–60% of the account every month just to stay online; against $500, it is 2–6%. This is why the VPS column in the table below matters most at small deposit sizes: 13 of the 24 brokers we checked state that they provide VPS hosting, and where a broker does not — Exness and IC Markets, for instance, state no VPS provided — third-party hosting becomes a fixed cost to add to the plan.
The second line is per-trade cost. Scalping EAs trade often, and even modest round-trip costs compound with frequency. As an illustrative figure — not a quote from any broker — an EA placing twenty 0.01-lot trades a month at a combined spread-plus-commission cost of about $0.20 per trade pays roughly $4 a month: under 1% of a $500 account, but 8% of a $50 account. The lower the deposit, the more the strategy's edge has to overcome its own cost of doing business.
The third line is the deposit itself, plus any top-ups your verification plan assumes. A practical rule of thumb for the small-live phase: keep fixed monthly costs, mainly the VPS, to a few percent of account equity; size the robot so its worst-case drawdown is survivable; and treat the first deposit as a verification budget rather than growth capital. If the numbers only work at full size, that is useful information — reduce the lot multiplier or wait until you can fund the account properly.
Minimum Deposit at 24 Brokers: The Data
We reviewed the published account data of 24 brokers and recorded three fields per broker: the stated minimum deposit (keeping account-type wording where the source includes it), the automated-trading and scalping policy, and whether VPS hosting is provided. The table is sorted by stated minimum deposit, from lowest to highest; brokers that state no minimum requirement are listed after the numeric tiers, because “no minimum” is not itself a number. A dash (“—”) means the field is not stated on the broker's live page as we recorded it — not stated is not the same as unavailable — and where a broker describes its deposit as low without publishing a figure, we say exactly that.
| Broker | Minimum deposit | EA / scalping policy | VPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Exness | $1 | EA, scalping, hedging | No |
| InstaForex | $1 | EA trading allowed | Yes |
| FBS | $5 | EA, scalping, hedging | Yes |
| XM | $5 | EA, scalping, hedging | Yes |
| FiboGroup | $50 | EA, scalping, hedging | Yes |
| LiteFinance | $50 | EA, scalping, hedging | Yes |
| Moneta Markets | $50 | EA, scalping, hedging | — |
| OpoFinance | $50 (STP) | EA, scalping, hedging | No |
| Vantage | $50 | Scalping, hedging (EA not stated) | Yes |
| Alpari | $100 (Standard) | Scalping, hedging, news trading | Yes |
| AMarkets | $100 | EA, scalping, hedging | Yes |
| AvaTrade | $100 | Scalping, hedging (EA not stated) | No |
| CFI Financial | $100 (ECN) | EA, scalping, hedging | No |
| ePlanet | $100 | Scalping, hedging | No |
| FP Markets | $100 (ECN) | Scalping, hedging, news trading | Yes |
| FxPro | $100 | Scalping, hedging (EA not stated) | Yes |
| HYCM | $100 | EA, scalping, hedging | — |
| WM Markets | $100 | Scalping only stated | — |
| IC Markets | $200 | EA, scalping, hedging | No |
| Pepperstone | None | Scalping, hedging, EAs | — |
| XChief | None | Scalping, hedging, news trading | No |
| OctaFX | Low (no figure) | EA, scalping, hedging | Yes |
| HFM | — | Scalping, hedging, EAs | Yes |
| RoboForex | — | EA, scalping, hedging | Yes |
At the top of the numeric tiers, two brokers state a $1 minimum deposit: Exness and InstaForex, and both publish automated-trading permissions — InstaForex states EA trading allowed outright. Next come FBS and XM at $5, each listing EA, scalping, and hedging as allowed and each stating VPS service. The $50 tier is the busiest: FiboGroup, LiteFinance, Moneta Markets, OpoFinance, and Vantage all state $50, with EA permissions explicit at all of them except Vantage, whose data mentions scalping and hedging without naming EAs.
The $100 tier includes Alpari, AMarkets, AvaTrade, CFI Financial, ePlanet, FP Markets, FxPro, HYCM, and WM Markets, with IC Markets stating $200. Two brokers state no minimum deposit requirement at all: Pepperstone and XChief. Finally, three entries carry a description or a dash instead of a number: OctaFX describes a low minimum deposit without publishing a figure, while HFM and RoboForex do not state a minimum in the data we reviewed — treat those as questions to ask directly before planning a deposit.
How to Choose Among Low-Deposit Brokers
A low minimum deposit is a filter, not a decision. Once the cheap-entry candidates are shortlisted, four criteria do the real sorting.
- Regulation. Know who supervises the money. LiteFinance is regulated by the FSC of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (Tier-3) and RoboForex by the FSC of Belize (Tier-3), while HFM lists the FCA, CySEC, and DFSA, and Pepperstone lists ASIC, FCA, CySEC, BaFin, and DFSA. Offshore registration does not automatically disqualify a broker for a small test account, but you should know which protections do and do not apply to it.
- EA policy in writing. Most brokers in the table allow EA, scalping, and hedging; HFM and Pepperstone list EAs explicitly. Where the data mentions only scalping — WM Markets states scalping allowed without an explicit EA mention — treat it as an ask-first item and get written confirmation before deploying your robot.
- VPS availability. Thirteen of the 24 brokers state VPS hosting — among them FBS, XM, HFM, and LiteFinance — which can remove or reduce the hosting line in your monthly budget. Where no VPS is provided, price a third-party VPS before committing to a small deposit.
- Platform match. MT4 and MT5 dominate the dataset, which suits most MT4 and MT5 EAs out of the box. If your strategy needs cTrader, the candidates are FP Markets, FxPro, IC Markets, Moneta Markets, and Pepperstone — Pepperstone also lists TradingView — and note that cTrader strategies do not run in MT4 terminals, so the platform decides where the EA can live.
Risk and Monitoring Warning
Small accounts rarely die of a bad strategy alone; they die of over-leveraging. A low deposit combined with high available leverage invites oversized positions, and an EA executes without hesitation — in both directions. Set a hard equity floor at which the robot stops trading, cap the lot multiplier in its settings, and review the account weekly instead of letting it run unsupervised for months. Trading foreign exchange and CFDs on leverage carries a high level of risk and can result in the loss of all invested capital. Broker conditions, including minimum deposits, EA policies, and VPS terms, change over time, so re-verify them before each deployment, confirm that your broker is regulated by an authority you are comfortable relying on, and remember that past performance of any strategy, automated or manual, does not guarantee future results.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the lowest minimum deposit for EA trading?
In our 24-broker dataset, Exness and InstaForex state the lowest figure at $1 each, and both publish automated-trading permissions. FBS and XM follow at $5. Keep in mind that the stated minimum is the entry ticket — your robot's practical capital requirement depends on lot sizing and expected drawdown.
Can I run an EA on a $50 or $100 account?
Technically yes, and many traders use exactly that size for live verification. The real constraints are margin for all simultaneous positions, a survivable drawdown measured in dollars, and fixed costs such as a VPS. Work those out for your specific robot before choosing the deposit size.
How much does a VPS cost relative to a small account?
Basic forex VPS plans typically run around $10–$30 per month. On a $50 account that is a 20–60% monthly drag; on a $500 account it is 2–6%. This is why the VPS column matters most when you are comparing low-deposit brokers for an always-on robot.
Does a low minimum deposit also mean low trading costs?
No — the two are independent. A broker can accept $1 and still charge wide spreads or meaningful commissions, while a broker asking $200 can be cheaper per trade. Check the cost structure separately from the entry requirement, especially for high-frequency EAs.
What does the dash mean in the table?
A dash means the field is not stated on the broker's live page as we recorded it — not that the service is unavailable. OctaFX similarly describes its minimum deposit as low without publishing a figure. Treat both as questions to ask the broker directly, ideally in writing.
Do I need a large account before scaling an EA up?
Not a large one — a correctly sized one. The sequence that works is demo, then a small live account at minimum lot sizes, then scaling once live execution matches the backtest. Scale the lot size to the account's survivable drawdown, never the reverse.
Conclusion
For EA traders, the minimum deposit is where strategy design meets broker reality. It sets the entry price for live verification, but the VPS bill, the cost drag, and the drawdown math decide whether a small account survives long enough to teach you anything. Use the table to shortlist brokers whose stated entry amount, EA policy, and VPS terms fit your robot, verify the details in writing, and fund the account your strategy actually needs — not just the one the broker will accept. When you are ready to go deeper, our per-broker reviews are the next stop: start from the forex brokers hub.